Newcastle Fixtures Announced – West Brom, Reading First Up


As expected the Coca-Cola Championship fixtures for next season have just been announced, and we have a trip to West Brom before facing Reading at home.

coca-cola-championship

It’s interesting that we did the double over West Brom last season and that was the only double we achieved, and that’s not surprising since we had  just 7 wins all season.

Newcastle will meet five former Premier League sides for the first month. Sheffield Wednesday come to St James’s Park on August 19 before a trip to Crystal Palace and a home game against Nigel Pearson’s Leicester City.

The first Tyne-Tees derby is on December 19th against Middlesbrough, while the club finish the campaign with a trip to London and QPR. Let’s hope we are in a good position in the league by then, and Roy Keane doesn’t bring Ipswich to St James’ Park until April 24th.

Now that the fixture list has been announced it will put pressure on the club to appoint a manager, and we now expect that Alan could be announced as early as tomorrow, but we expect that he, along with Iain Dowie and Paul Ferris are already at work on things, pending the announcement.

We are expecting a number of announcements by the club to be unveiled before this weekend.

Here are the full fixtures, and it looks like we have the FA Cup Final on 15th May – that’s good 😀

Comments welcome.

=====

Sat Aug 8 West Bromwich Albion A
Sat Aug 15 Reading H
Wed Aug 19 Sheffield Wednesday H
Sat Aug 22 Crystal Palace A
Sat Aug 29 Leicester City H
Sat Sep 12 Cardiff City A
Tue Sep 15 Blackpool A
Sat Sep 19 Plymouth Argyle H
Wed Sep 23 Carling Cup 3
Sat Sep 26 Ipswich Town A
Wed Sep 30 Queens Park Rangers H
Sat Oct 3 Bristol City H
Sat Oct 17 Nottingham Forest A
Tue Oct 20 Scunthorpe United A
Sat Oct 24 Doncaster Rovers H
Wed Oct 28 Carling Cup 4
Sat Oct 31 Sheffield United A
Sat Nov 7 Peterborough United H
Sat Nov 21 Preston North End A
Sat Nov 28 Swansea City H
Wed Dec 2 Carling Cup 5
Sat Dec 5 Watford H
Tue Dec 8 Coventry City A
Sat Dec 12 Barnsley A
Sat Dec 19 Middlesbrough H
Sat Dec 26 Sheffield Wednesday A
Mon Dec 28 Derby County H
Sat Jan 2 F.A . Cup 3
Wed Jan 6 Carling Cup Semi-Final (1)
Sat Jan 9 Reading A
Sat Jan 16 West Bromwich Albion H
Wed Jan 20 Carling Cup Semi-Final (2)
Sat Jan 23 F.A. Cup 4
Wed Jan 27 Crystal Palace H
Sat Jan 30 Leicester City A
Sat Feb 6 Cardiff City H
Tue Feb 9 Derby County A
Sat Feb 13 Swansea City A F.A. Cup 5
Wed Feb 17 Coventry City H
Sat Feb 20 Preston North End H
Sat Feb 27 Watford A
Sun Feb 28 Carling Cup Final
Sat Mar 6 Barnsley H F.A. Cup 6
Sat Mar 13 Middlesbrough A
Wed Mar 17 Scunthorpe United H
Sat Mar 20 Bristol City A
Tue Mar 23 Doncaster Rovers A
Sat Mar 27 Nottingham Forest H
Sat Apr 3 Peterborough United A
Mon Apr 5 Sheffield United H
Sat Apr 10 Blackpool H F.A. Cup Semi-Final
Sat Apr 17 Plymouth Argyle A
Sat Apr 24 Ipswich Town H
Sun May 2 Queens Park Rangers A
Sat May 15 F.A. Cup Final

Copyright © and Database Right 2009 The Football Association Premier League Ltd / The Football League Ltd.
All rights reserved.



You can share this articleShare on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someonePin on PinterestDigg thisShare on LinkedInShare on RedditShare on Tumblr

25 comments so far

  • RyanToon

    Jun 17, 2009 at 10:42 AM

    Comment #1

    tought two games to start with but if we were in the prem and had them two to start with wed be laughing imo

    0
  • Shot Bru

    Jun 17, 2009 at 10:45 AM

    Comment #2

    QPR away last game of the season’s a tough one.

    0
  • Stuart79

    Jun 17, 2009 at 10:51 AM

    Comment #3

    We could almost be in the Prem!

    0
  • Phillippe Alberrrrrrrt

    Jun 17, 2009 at 10:56 AM

    Comment #4

    Stuart – what’s this talk about breakthrough’s?

    0
  • sirjasontoon

    Jun 17, 2009 at 10:57 AM

    Comment #5

    I think we will be out the blocks crawling.
    The preparation is zero,no manager,no owner,no transfers…got disaster written all over it.

    Even if we retained all of our 1st team they would be hammered in the championship…football is about guts,pride and bravery…we have nothing in those departments or very little.

    0
  • Coca Cola

    Jun 17, 2009 at 10:58 AM

    Comment #6

    Look at all those beautiful Saturday games – hopefully all at 3pm! Back to traditional football kick-offs!

    0
  • SHEARER 4 TOON

    Jun 17, 2009 at 11:09 AM

    Comment #7

    1st game away again 🙁

    0
  • cicero

    Jun 17, 2009 at 11:22 AM

    Comment #8

    WBA no manager
    Reading manager appointed last week

    Were not that far behind as I’m sure Shearer is working away in the background.

    0
  • brownrob

    Jun 17, 2009 at 11:23 AM

    Comment #9

    Are you allowed to post league fixtures in their entirety Ed? Do you not need a licence to post them? Just looking out for you Ed like 🙂

    Games 2-4 are spread over 7 days though!

    0
  • laz

    Jun 17, 2009 at 11:32 AM

    Comment #10

    Now its just starting to sink in – Fizzy pop league OMG!!!
    These clowns in the SJP boardroom need to get something sorted and quick. Every team in the division is looking at our game being their cup final. Its going to be tough.

    0
  • stevep

    Jun 17, 2009 at 11:35 AM

    Comment #11

    I just can’t get used to it, I keep clicking on premiership news, seeing good players linked to clubs. Looking at the fixture list and championship table is sooooo wierd – oh well we’ve hopefully only got one season of it .

    0
  • coyote

    Jun 17, 2009 at 11:38 AM

    Comment #12

    just makes you want to rush out and buy a season ticket doesn’t it

    0
  • reetpetite

    Jun 17, 2009 at 11:39 AM

    Comment #13

    some mouthwatering fixtures there!! tuesday march 23rd being a real highlight.

    0
  • NotAGhostToon

    Jun 17, 2009 at 11:46 AM

    Comment #14

    How far in advance do away tickets go on sale? I’ve never been to an away game but i want a sweep of them this year, I live in Nottingham so there’s a few here or here-abouts, plus how much will away tickets be this year?
    ta

    0
  • Coca Cola

    Jun 17, 2009 at 12:03 PM

    Comment #15

    coyote – yes, it does. Newcastle are Newcastle regardless of which league they play in. Although I can understand people who withhold buying season tickets until Ashley is gone, I hope no-one is stopping their season just because of relegation, otherwise why be a fan? (Recession aside of course)

    0
  • sirjasontoon

    Jun 17, 2009 at 12:06 PM

    Comment #16

    🙂
    Coyote made me laugh.
    Think it sunk in today seeing lots of teams i have hardly heard of.
    Barnsley Away minus 2 and snowing in december….oh how the mighty have fallen..cheers Mr Ashley.

    0
  • sirjasontoon

    Jun 17, 2009 at 12:08 PM

    Comment #17

    On the bright side hopefully the Fat T4AT will hurry up and pack his bags so we can start to re-build this mess.

    Adios Pie Face and take your replica shirts with you.

    0
  • sirjasontoon

    Jun 17, 2009 at 12:09 PM

    Comment #18

    P.S Don’t forget your big busted bus parked round the back of Stardusts Crib 🙂

    0
  • bettyswollocks

    Jun 17, 2009 at 12:17 PM

    Comment #19

    new division and we still can’t get a home game on boxing day.

    0
  • Whumpie

    Jun 17, 2009 at 12:22 PM

    Comment #20

    Anyone know what kind of TV or web coverage is available?

    0
  • Nick 69

    Jun 17, 2009 at 12:36 PM

    Comment #21

    bettyswollocks- good! i love my boxing day away trips, cant beat them!

    0
  • Sav

    Jun 17, 2009 at 1:27 PM

    Comment #22

    UNDERWHELMED.

    I can’t get exercised about who we will be facing until I have some idea about who we will be ourselves.
    What was it that bloke said about the known knowns and the known unknowns. Its the unknown unknowns that bite you in the arse. That was the gist of it. Couldn’t agree more.

    0
  • DJG

    Jun 17, 2009 at 2:26 PM

    Comment #23

    Tue Sep 15 Blackpool A

    I would love to get a ticket for that game. Does anyone know how many weeks before the games tikets go on sale? Is it 3 or something? Cheers

    0
  • newcastle29

    Jun 17, 2009 at 5:31 PM

    Comment #24

    whumpie.

    as usual all fixtures are subject to change and even more so this comming season in the championship as both sky and the bbc will be covering live games.

    0
  • maarud

    Jun 17, 2009 at 6:37 PM

    Comment #25

    What a shame! First and last game away, and away at boxing day!

    Thats cr.. THe only ground that can produce 52.000 shouting fans at boxing day, and we have to play away..Nothing new from the 3 last seasons I see.. Always away at the first and last game, and on boxing day.

    0

You must log in to post a comment.