Pardew – I Inherited A Winning Spirit From Chris Hughton

Alan Pardew praised the work done by Chris Hughton at Newcastle, in his acceptance speech for the LMA manager of the year award.

Alan Pardew – fantastic achievement last season

It’s an appropriate award to be won by any manager, because it’s your peers that vote, and they should know what it takes to be a top manager.

These are the some of the words he used on Monday night in London in accepting the award:

“ You have to put in the foundations for what you think is going to be a successful year. We have done that.”

“We had a good base last year and I want to thank Chris who did a good job last year as I inherited a winning spirit.”

“There are a lot of a famous names in here and young managers who will tell you winning spirit is very difficult to install.”

“I inherited that and a great team, including John Carver.”

The award was presented to Alan at the League Managers Association 20th Annual Awards Dinner hosted at the historic Old Billingsgate, London,

The LMA Chairman, Howard Wilkinson, had this to say:

“There is no doubt that the LMA Annual Awards are perceived as the most accurate measure of a manager’s ability because there are no better judges of your performance than your peers.”

“Alan Pardew’s achievements at Newcastle this season are there for all to see and it is just reward that he should be named as LMA Manager of the Year.”

“I’m often asked, where are all the English coaches? My answer is ‘We have plenty of them, they just need an opportunity.’ I am delighted for Alan that he has taken his opportunity.”

And Richard Bevan, Chief Executive of the LMA, said:

“Tonight is a celebration of this season’s managerial achievements across the top four leagues in the professional game. “

“To receive votes from and to be acknowledged by your fellow managers and competitors is a great honor.”

“Alan is fully deserving of this recognition and what he has achieved in such a short space of time with Newcastle is very impressive.”

“I would also like to say a special thank you to all the members who have contributed to yet another fantastic season.”

Alan was right to talk about the role Chris Hughton played in Newcastle’s fantastic resurgence, and it looks like Chris may be in demand in the summer, since he’s been linked with the West Brom manager job, which is close to where he is now as manager of Birmingham.

Roy Hodgson left that job after Sunday’s last game to manage England, and indeed will name his England squad for the European Championships at 1:00pm today – and we expect Andy Carroll to be in the 23 players named, but it looks like Rio Ferdinand is not in the squad.

The full list of awards included Lee Chark winning the Special Merit award, and they were presented by the new England manager and LMA President Roy Hodgson, LMA Chairman Howard Wilkinson, and the FA’s Head of Elite Development, Gareth Southgate and were as follows:

  • Barclays Premier League Manager of the Year – Alan Pardew, Newcastle United
  • Barclays Community Sports Award – Ros Cramp
  • Npower Football League 2 Manager of the Year – Paolo Di Canio, Swindon Town
  • Npower Football League 1 Manager of the Year – Chris Powell, Charlton Athletic
  • Npower Football League Championship Manager of the Year – Brian McDermott, Reading
  • Budweiser FA Cup Manager of the Year – Roberto Di Matteo, Chelsea
  • LMA Special Merit Award sponsored by npower – Lee Clark, Huddersfield Town
  • LMA Service to Football Award sponsored by npower – St John Ambulance
  • LMA Manager of the Year sponsored by Barclays – Alan Pardew, Newcastle United

Comments welcome.

7 comments so far

You must log in to post a comment.