Rob Elliot Named In Republic Of Ireland Squad

As we had expected Martin O´Neill has names Rob Elliot in his reduced Ireland squad for the playoffs with Bosnia-Herzegovina.

But with the news today that Rob played yesterday against advice from the Newcastle medical team – it seems unlikely to us that Steve McClaren can let him go on International duty with his thigh still dodgy and he played in some pain yesterday.

rob elliot saves again bournemouth

Rob Elliot named in reduced Republic of Ireland squad

Steve wants to keep him on Tyneside so he can receive more treatment to try to mend that bad thigh of his – which has been a chronic problem for over a year now.

The fact that is still our only fit senior goalkeeper at the club also plays into that decision.

O´Neill is sweating on the fitness of five of his players named in the 30 man squad and they include Rob and the five  players will be assessed by their clubs tomorrow to see if they are fit enough to join the squad in Dublin.

Rob Elliot will be assessed by the Newcastle medical team on Monday and we expect the club to tell Martin O´Neill that Rob´s simply not fit enough to join the Ireland squad.

Rob is playing in some pain at the moment and the very last thing we want is to lose Rob Elliot after we lost Tim Krul for the season during the last International break with a serious ACL knee injury.

The Ireland squad has been reduced from 39 to 30 and does contain four goalkeepers so perhaps O´Neil is expecting at least one of the goalies to pull out.

Here´s the squad that O´Neill has just announced:

Goalkeepers: David Forde (Millwall), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday), Darren Randolph (West Ham United), Rob Elliot (Newcastle United)

Defenders: Richard Keogh (Derby County), Marc Wilson (Stoke City), Seamus Coleman (Everton), Cyrus Christie (Derby County), John O’Shea (Sunderland) , Alex Pearce (Derby County), Shane Duffy (Blackburn Rovers), Ciaran Clark (Aston Villa), Paul McShane (Reading), Stephen Ward (Burnley), Robbie Brady (Norwich City)

Midfielders: James McCarthy (Everton), Jeff Hendrick (Derby County), Darron Gibson (Everton), Harry Arter (Bournemouth), Glenn Whelan (Stoke City), Aiden McGeady (Everton), James McClean (West Bromwich Albion), Alan Judge (Brentford), David Meyler (Hull City), Jonathan Walters (Stoke City), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich City)

Forwards: Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy), Shane Long (Southampton), Daryl Murphy (Ipswich Town), Kevin Doyle (Colorado Rapids)

21 comments so far

  • SUTTY1978

    Nov 8, 2015 at 8:50 PM

    Comment #1

    Makes sense to send Toney to a club thats battling relegation, gives him a good grounding for joining the first team squad at the Toon!

  • SUTTY1978

    Nov 8, 2015 at 8:53 PM

    Comment #2

    Who is the ROI no.1?

    You look at those other keepers and they’re pretty awful.

  • Transfer Sage

    Nov 8, 2015 at 9:09 PM

    Comment #3

    You can’t play him when injured then complain that Ireland want to do the same.

  • barkel

    Nov 8, 2015 at 9:18 PM

    Comment #4

    shay Given would be no.1 but he’s injured, Randolph seems to be no. 2. Elliot was 4th choice

  • jesperfuglsang - capt'n awesome of the lemon crew

    Nov 8, 2015 at 9:27 PM

    Comment #5

    SUTTY…I am not sure I agree with you there!

    …I actually think it can have the exact opposite effect.

  • SUTTY1978

    Nov 8, 2015 at 10:09 PM

    Comment #6

    I was being sarcastic Jesper! Doesn’t come across too well on screen!

  • SUTTY1978

    Nov 8, 2015 at 10:12 PM

    Comment #7

    Barkel, thats a bit embarrassing for the lad then isn’t it, rated below some lower league nobodies and Shay who was great in his day but hasnt been a first choice keeper since he left us six years ago

  • jimmysmith

    Nov 8, 2015 at 10:20 PM

    Comment #8

    Jamie Vardy is channelling Roy Race. Great game in prospect, again. We have a better defence than our stats suggest, but Vardy runs like a man who’s had the fear of God put into him. I’m a Colo fan despite a couple of misgivings, notably that sending off last season, which I took personal offence too, none the less, he remains a folk hero to many, myself included, but against Jamie Vardy, so fast, so committed, so unremitting, I can’t help but fear the worst.

    But we are at home, with a still too small collection of very good players, but who are by and large fit and now showing genuine signs of living up to expectations. Can’t wait for this one. Another win could set the tone for the remainder of the season, similarly a loss, and we are well and truly back among the stiffs. Pivotal match.

  • jesperfuglsang - capt'n awesome of the lemon crew

    Nov 8, 2015 at 10:24 PM

    Comment #9


    …on a second read it actually does sound a bit sarcastic! But yes, sarcasm can be a bit tricky to spot in the public forum…

  • Jib

    Nov 8, 2015 at 10:53 PM

    Comment #10

    MotD Goal of the month
    Don’t forget to vote for Mitro 😎

  • welshgeordie9

    Nov 8, 2015 at 11:08 PM

    Comment #11

    Who said palace was going to lose 3-0 today.

  • jane

    Nov 8, 2015 at 11:10 PM

    Comment #12

    there are usually goals in Leicester’s matches, both teams have scored in 11 of their 12 matches. we lost the match before the last 2 week break 6-1 and won the match after the break 6-2 and I wouldn’t be surprised if the pattern is replicated this time having had a poor performance before the break I think we will have a good home performance again after the break. this season Leicester have done better against defensive teams eg Watford, WBA, Palace, Sunderland, West Ham, but not so good away against attacking teams eg Southampton and Bournemouth. a good example of how they don’t do well against good attacking teams is their 2-5 loss to Arsenal . I think the score could be something like 4-2, if we play like we did against Norwich it will be can we score more than them.

  • toonking

    Nov 8, 2015 at 11:17 PM

    Comment #13

    Laurent Robert 32 // Nov 8, 2015 at 7:45 PM

    Funny on here today ?

    i’ve got to admit you most certainly derve credit for the way you’ve been post pardew.

    you along side manxpie are the only two that put seem to have put pardew to one side and focused fully on on newcastle, the rest of us just can’t stop “including myself “.

    very well done mate.

  • toonking

    Nov 8, 2015 at 11:19 PM

    Comment #14

    post pardew= after his era

  • Jib

    Nov 8, 2015 at 11:20 PM

    Comment #15

    I have my betting slip ready.
    Could you give me the times of the goals and the scorers names please 🙂

  • jane

    Nov 8, 2015 at 11:23 PM

    Comment #16

    credit where credit is due Pardew has done an excellent job at Palace. Palace’s next match is home to Sunderland on a Monday night which should be good.

  • jane

    Nov 8, 2015 at 11:26 PM

    Comment #17

    think I gave plenty of tips there don’t be greedy 🙂

  • welshgeordie9

    Nov 8, 2015 at 11:29 PM

    Comment #18


    Palace will beat Sunderland.

  • welshgeordie9

    Nov 8, 2015 at 11:30 PM

    Comment #19

    In Pardew we trust.

  • Jib

    Nov 8, 2015 at 11:31 PM

    Comment #20

    There’s a good bet right there Welshie.

    Connor Wickham to get a hat-trick !!!

  • welshgeordie9

    Nov 8, 2015 at 11:36 PM

    Comment #21


    That would be funny.


You must log in to post a comment.