Would You Believe It – Newcastle Defender Back In Dutch Squad

The Dutch squad for he upcoming games with Belarus and France has been announced and Vurnon Anita has been named in the provisional squad of 29 players.

But there’ no Daryl Janmaat of Watford who sustained a shoulder injury over the weekend that will keep him out for three weeks..

Other players in the squad include former Newcastle target Bas Dost of Sporting Lisbon and former Newcastle player Gini Wijnaldum, who we saw actually working hard in second half in the Liverpool 2-1 win at Chelsea on Friday night.

Of course just like at the end of last season Vurnon Anita has been playing great for us at right back and we think he’s better defensive right-back than Daryl Janmaat.


Vurnon Anita – named in 29 man Netherlands squad

Maybe not as effective in going forward but certainly a better full-back at defending and he very rarely gives the ball away.

The Dutch will have home games against Belarus on 7th October and France on 10th October during the International break.

One reason Daryl seemed to want to leave Newcastle was to keep his place in the national side, but he really didn’t want to play in England’s second division and so he joined Watford last month.

It was best he left when he didn’t want to stay and fight for Newcastle.

No Tim Krul because Tim is still fighting his way back from the awful ACL knee injury he picked up playing for the Netherlands 11 months ago.

Here is the 29 man Holland squad in alphabetical order of last names – no it’s not in order of the best players first:

Vurnon Anita (Newcastle United), Steven Berghuis (Feyenoord), Daley Blind (Manchester United), Jeffrey Bruma (VfL Wolfsburg), Jasper Cillessen (FC Barcelona), Jordy Clasie (Southampton), Virgil van Dijk (Southampton), Bas Dost (Sporting CP), Jorrit Hendrix (PSV), Vincent Janssen (Tottenham Hotspur), Luuk de Jong (PSV), Rick Karsdorp (Feyenoord), Davy Klaassen (Ajax), Terence Kongolo (Feyenoord), Luciano Narsingh (PSV), Quincy Promes (Spartak Moskou), Davy Pröpper (PSV), Bart Ramselaar (PSV), Wesley Sneijder (Galatasaray), Maarten Stekelenburg (Everton), Kevin Strootman (AS Roma), Kenny Tete (Ajax),Joël Veltman (Ajax), Ron Vlaar (AZ), Michel Vorm (Tottenham Hotspur), Stefan de Vrij (Lazio), Georginio Wijnaldum (Liverpool), Jetro Willems (PSV), Jeroen Zoet (PSV)