Rafa Simply Furious After The Game On Friday


The Chronicle is reporting that Rafa Benitez was furious after the game on Friday night and of course you only have to watch his interview after the game to see that, but apparently off camera he was completely lived about what happened.

In his interviews after the game Rafa concentrated on the antics of Henri Lansbury the former Arsenal junior who was involved in both penalties and the Newcastle manager even suggested the FA may want to look at the video of the incident with Jonjo Shelvey.

They will see that Lansbury kicked out at the Newcastle player before Jonjo did the same with Lansbury – and for which he received his red card.

Rafa Benitez Looking Down Close Up

Rafa Benitez – looks shattered after the game

He pointed out the FA can do that now – to look back at what the referee  may have missed and charge a player after the game.

But Rafa was also very smart and in order to avoid punishment from the FA he refused to talk too much about the referee Stephen Martin, who seemed to act in the first half as if he wanted to ensure Newcastle would not win the game.

He gave Nottingham Forest two penalties, sent two of our players off, disallowed a perfectly good headed goal from Ciaran Clark and turned down a good appeal for a penalty.

Here’s some of what Rafa said after the game related to the referee:

“It is very difficult to understand what happened.” “We can complain about the penalty not given, the goal offside, the Forest penalty given and the two red cards.”

“I haven’t spoken to the referee, I don’t need to do it.” “I have seen the images and it’s obvious and clear to me.”

“We did really well, we were doing what we had to do, but it’s a big difference when you have 45 minutes of a numerical two-man superiority, it’s not easy.”

When it gets as blatant as it looked on Friday night surely the FA needs to investigate or at least interview the referee and have him explain his decisions – behind the scenes of course.

It was a game at half time that would be very difficult for Newcastle to win with just 9 men but the lads played their hearts out in those final 45 minutes and almost got a point but for an 86th minute winner form Forest.

That tells you how good a team we have.

Now we need to put this terrible game behind us and go on a long win streak.

Comments welcome.



You can share this articleShare on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someonePin on PinterestDigg thisShare on LinkedInShare on RedditShare on Tumblr

5 comments so far

  • barkel

    Dec 5, 2016 at 2:00 PM

    Comment #1

    The linesmen have to be held accountable too, the ref made some poor calls but he wasn’t helped out at all. The ref appears to have been following the game and sent off Shelvey after the linesman thought something had happened

    0
  • Jail for Ashley

    Dec 5, 2016 at 2:03 PM

    Comment #2

    Sav made a good point, how is an off the ball incident a penalty anyway.

    0
  • toonincheek

    Dec 5, 2016 at 2:05 PM

    Comment #3

    The linesman “assistant referee CANNOT have fully seen
    the incident.
    The ref relied on him.
    Did the assistant ref not see Lansbury’s tackle on Shelvey
    and consider it a foul, and wave his flag?
    No.
    He saw Lansbury rolling around & made an assumption.
    That assumption was partially correct but biased and misleading.

    Lansbury foul – Yellow

    Shelvey vaguely retaliated – Yellow.

    Even is Shelvey gets a red, it’s NOT a penalty.

    0
  • lochinvar

    Dec 5, 2016 at 2:10 PM

    Comment #4

    Both the ref and the blindsman failed to disallow their first goal for their player coming back onto the pitch from an offside position and interfering with play and the keepers view.

    The FA need to seriously get their act together and do something about incompetent officials as otherwise the suspicions of conspiracy and corruption will only mount and the problem lies at their door, rolling around in agony rather like Angela.

    0
  • Charlie in the Gallowgate

    Dec 5, 2016 at 3:17 PM

    Comment #5

    tooni
    I couldn’t get my heed around the first penalty.

    Can a referee give a penalty when there was no foul or thinks there is a foul.
    surely the linesman did not see a foul only Shelvey kicking out and Angela rolling around – he can only assume that there was contact.
    so a referee and linesman cannot give a penalty frothy THOUGHT there was a foul or contact

    0

You must log in to post a comment.